عربى | الصفحة الرئيسية

Islamic manuscripts from Southeast Asia 

in the British Library

20220929 TIMA BL Visittoacollection October 2022 Twitter ENG

Wednesday, 19 October 2022 at 6am EDT / 11am BST / 12pm EET
via  Zoom
Indonesian and Arabic simultaneous interpretation will be available

Annabel T. Gallop, Head of the Southeast Asia section at the British Library in London, will present highlights of the British Library collection of Islamic manuscripts from Southeast Asia. 

For registration and more informnation  ... 

2021 Virtual Conference on Arabic-Script Manuscripts in Africa

ASMIA Facebook Twitter Coverphoto

Bibliotheca Alexandrina and The Islamic Manuscript Association—in partnership with the library’s Manuscripts Center and the Thesaurus Islamicus Foundation—organized the conference Arabic-Script Manuscripts in Africa, which was held remotely via Zoom at Bibliotheca Alexandrina from 12 to 16 September 2021.

The conference comprised five panels featuring original, current research on the Arabic-script manuscript cultures of North and Sub-Saharan Africa and the care and management of manuscript collections across the continent:

Panel 1, First Session: Historical Traditions of Arabic-Script Manuscripts in Africa
Panel 1, Second Session: Historical Traditions of Arabic-Script Manuscripts in Africa
Panel 2: Manuscript Libraries and Written Heritage Centres in Africa
Panel 3: African Arabic-Script Languages
Panel 4: Cataloguing, Editing, Research and Publishing
Panel 5: Preservation, Conservation and Digitization

Additionally, the conference included five workshops corresponding to the themes of the panels. The organizers will publish presented papers in an edited volume of proceedings.

For more information, please visit the conference’s website (asmiaconference.org), and YouTube channel (Arabic-ScriptManuscripts in Africa), and see its Facebook (@Arabic-Script Manuscripts in Africa) and Twitter (@ASMIACONFERENCE) accounts.